t
S
m
s
savvy1103 savvy1103
wrote...
Rep: 0 0
8 years ago
I'm really new to AP Bio & it's already killing me. In Campbell's 9th Edition, the chapter 2 write about a theme asks While waiting at an airport, Neil Campbell once overheard this claim: "It's paranoid and ignorant to worry about industry or agriculture contaminating the environment with their chemical wastes. After all, this stuff is just made of the same atoms that were already present in our environment." Drawing on your knowledge of electron distribution, bonding, and the theme of emergent properties, write a short essay (100-150 words) countering this argument.

How do I answer this? I don't need an essay, I just need help understanding the answer. I'm aware that there's another post with a similar topic, but I have no means to subscribe and see the answer, which sucks. Thanks so much!
Read 6082 times
3 Replies

Related Topics

Replies
wrote...
Valued Member
Educator
8 years ago
The fact that all substances in our environment are made up of a limited group of elements does not diminish the reality that the impact of these elements is dependent on three things: the properties of the substance (which changes as elements are combined); the location of the substance; and the concentration of the substance. A small quantity of HCI in our stomach is good; a large quantity of HCI on our skin is very bad.

Just as our bodies are sensitive to these variables, so is our environment. The complexity and relationship between the many parts of our environment are only beginning to be understood, but industrial agriculture has proceeded in the past several decades without regard for the long-term (and long-distance) effects of chemical waste. For example, synthetic fertilizers may appear to be beneficial in increasing crop production in the factory farms of the American mid-west. This fertilizer is composed of nitrogen and phosphorus, elements that are naturally occurring and are needed for healthy plant growth.