b
t
J
b
oark oark
wrote...
Rep: 0 0
12 years ago
Hey everybody. I'm a final year student and I have to do some experiments with SSR (simple sequence repeat) indicator. Now I'm preparing to cloning some genes and I have some troubles. It's the DNA extraction stage, but from 6% silver- staining polyacrylamide gel (normally, in my lab, they just extract from agarose gel). I need some advices about the protocol and the difference between the ethidium bromide - staining polyacrylamide gel and the silver - staining one which I have to noticed before I go to extract DNA.
The interested band is about 300 bp and I have to electrophoresis PCR products on polyacrylamide gel because there're many bands which have their size near the band I need (e.g 350bp, 270bp..). Can I use the QIAEX II Gel extraction Kit of QIAgen for this purpose? Other than this Kit, is there any procedure I can use? (this Kit is too expensive, so if there's any cheaper way, it's better)
Please help me, thank for your help!!!
Read 698 times
2 Replies

Related Topics

Replies
wrote...
12 years ago
A polyacrylamide gel is a separation matrix used in electrophoresis of biomolecules, such as proteins or DNA fragments. Traditional DNA sequencing techniques such as Maxam-Gilbert or Sanger methods used polyacrylamide gels to separate DNA fragments differing by a single base-pair in length so the sequence could be read. Most modern DNA separation methods now use agarose gels, except for particularly small DNA fragments. It is currently most often used in the field of immunology and protein analysis, often used to separate different proteins or isomers of the same protein into separate bands. These can be transferred onto a nitrocellulose or PVDF membrane to be probed with antibodies and corresponding markers, such as in a western blot.

[edit] Composition