l
a
s
galpinj galpinj
wrote...
Rep: 0 0
7 years ago
Hey guys,

So I have a quick question about apical dominance. I think I understand the difference between apical buds and axillary buds as well as apical meristems and lateral meristems. I'm just curious about something regarding apical dominance. If we cut the primary apical bud off and allow the axillary buds to grow, will one of them eventually takeover as the new apical meristem with apical dominance?

Otherwise, does cutting the primary apical bud off destroy any hope of apical dominance returning to the plant?

Thank you everyone
Read 373 times
3 Replies

Related Topics

Replies
wrote...
Educator
7 years ago
I'm not an expert in this field whatsoever, but I found this interesting read on Wikipedia:

Plant physiologists have identified four different stages the plant goes through after the apex is removed (Stages I-IV). The four stages are referred to as

1. lateral bud formation,
2. "imposition of inhibition" (apical dominance),
3. initiation of lateral bud outgrowth following decapitation, and
4. elongation and development of the lateral bud into a branch.

These stages can also be defined by the hormones that are regulating the process which are as follows: Stage I, cytokinin promoted, causing the lateral bud to form since cytokinin plays a role in cell division; Stage II, auxin is promoted, resulting in apical dominance ("imposition of inhibition"); Stage III, cytokinin released resulting in outward growth of the lateral bud; and Stage IV, auxin is decreased and gibberellic acid is promoted which results in cell division, enabling the bud or branch to continue outward growth.