f
b
d
h
Wateryplanet116 Wateryplanet116
wrote...
Rep: 0 0
10 years ago
I'm brand new to this forum so please forgive me if this question should be in another category and if so I would appreciate it if someone could point me to the right category to post this question in Slight Smile

I am majoring in biology and am currently in the process of transferring to a 4 year university from a community college to pursue a degree in the field.  Could someone here please suggest some great books on the subject of biology and it's fields that break down in detail Evolution and things in relation such as Natural Selection and mutations.  Books on DNA and books on Biology.  I have a good understanding of those terms but would like to wet my appetite that much more with some great books on those subjects.  Thanks!! Slight Smile
Read 819 times
6 Replies

Related Topics

Replies
wrote...
Staff Member
Educator
10 years ago
Stupid question, but do you agree with natural selection and evolution?

Great book would be The Origin of Species, and another good one is The Selfish Gene
Mastering in Nutritional Biology
Tralalalala Slight Smile
wrote...
10 years ago
I'm reading Stephen Jay Gould's "The Panda's Thumb" which is VERY interesting, and I'm no scientist. It is a collection of short essays on different topics in evolution, and helps paint a much richer, more nuanced picture of the theory and how it evolved before Darwin and since. For example, I just learned how Darwin was influenced by the economic theories of Adam Smith, which makes a lot of sense when you think about how companies start and evolve without some overall guiding hand.
wrote...
10 years ago
Best book by far on the topic for the layman is by Richard Dawkins. It is called "An Ancestors Tale". It travels from humans back through time through common ancestors all the way back to the dawn of life. Throughout the book he uses specific examples to discuss evolutionary theory.
When you like a flower, you just pluck it out.