a
t
i
r
drewsy20 drewsy20
wrote...
Rep: 0 0
6 years ago
A nurse cares for a client who has pyelonephritis. The client states, I am embarrassed to talk about my symptoms. How should the nurse respond?

a. I am a professional. Your symptoms will be kept in confidence.
  b. I understand. Elimination is a private topic and shouldn't be discussed.
  c. Take your time. It is okay to use words that are familiar to you.
  d. You seem anxious. Would you like a nurse of the same gender to care for you?

Question 2

A nurse assesses a client who has a family history of polycystic kidney disease (PKD). For which clinical manifestations should the nurse assess? (Select all that apply.)

a. Nocturia
  b. Flank pain
  c. Increased abdominal girth
  d. Dysuria
  e. Hematuria
  f.
  Diarrhea

Question 3

A nurse cares for a client who is recovering after a nephrostomy tube was placed 6 hours ago. The nurse notes drainage in the tube has decreased from 40 mL/hr to 12 mL over the last hour. Which action should the nurse take?

a. Document the finding in the client's record.
  b. Evaluate the tube as working in the hand-off report.
  c. Clamp the tube in preparation for removing it.
  d. Assess the client's abdomen and vital signs.

Question 4

After teaching a client with hypertension secondary to renal disease, the nurse assesses the client's understanding. Which statement made by the client indicates a need for additional teaching?

a. I can prevent more damage to my kidneys by managing my blood pressure.
  b. If I have increased urination at night, I need to drink less fluid during the day.
  c. I need to see the registered dietitian to discuss limiting my protein intake.
  d. It is important that I take my antihypertensive medications as directed.

Question 5