a
t
i
r
Vilas Vilas
wrote...
Rep: 0 0
2 years ago
I am an engineer and not a Biologist. I am studying it out of curiosity at the age of 79. I am stuck up at shape and size of organ development. Signals alone cannot decide shape. Signal can stop mitosis but gene can decide to produce this signal at an appropriate time. To my mind, this is impossible unless position of each cell or a small group of cells is mapped and stored in genetic memory.
We can notice very small difference in facial feature and tell if it is inherited from mother or father. So clearly this minute part of the face, say the tip  of the nose, is responding to genetic signal and stored information.
Is there any explanation? If yes, where can I find it?
Read 357 times
12 Replies

Related Topics

Replies
wrote...
Educator
2 years ago
Genes are turned-on and off at different stages of development. They're controlled by "chemical switches" that attach to genes responsible for the physical characteristics we see. Timing in biology via these chemical switches (e.g. methylation) is highly regulated - believe it or not, this idea goes back to Aristotle and is often referred to as epigenesis.

A convenient way to consider how controlled development is achieved is to treat it as a process that consists of synthesizing a particular substance at a particular time and at a particular place. The timing of some aspects of development involves a rigid sequence: Event B cannot occur before A, nor can C occur before B, and so on. Development unfolds because of a sequence of events, each one the direct cause of the next.

Once an organ reaches a desirable adult size, the genes responsible for its growth are turned off permanently. This is why humans cannot regrow amputated limbs, for example.
Vilas Author
wrote...
2 years ago