t
m
p
m
Octavio113 Octavio113
wrote...
Rep: 4 0
11 years ago
Mutational changes were induced in a single codon in the gene of T4 phage. The following amino acid substitutions were observed. By following the base changes in the codons, determine the codon for each mutant. Assume each amino acid substitution resulted from a single base substitution. Codons for several amino acids are provided. UAG, UAA, and UGA are stop codons. No additional information is required to solve this problem

Normal :
Mutant A: UGG
Mutant B:
Mutant C:
Mutant D:
Mutant E:

The answers I have come up with are:
Normal: UCG
Mutant B: UUG
Mutant C: CGG
Mutant D: GGG
Mutant E: GUG

This is also a problem that was listed here two years ago, but was never solved.  (S)he was missing the flow chart that I have attached.  Unfortunately, since I am a newb, I don't know how to find or link it.  If anyone can check to see if I am right, I would appreciate it.  If need be, I can explain how I got my answers.  Thanks!
 Attached file 
Thumbnail(s):
You must login or register to gain access to this attachment.
Read 2727 times
11 Replies

Related Topics

Replies
wrote...
Valued Member
11 years ago
If need be, I can explain how I got my answers.

also looking at this scratching my noggin, what did you do to obtain those?
Sunshine ☀ ☼
Octavio113 Author
wrote...
11 years ago
Okay, so we already know what Mutant A is UGG, because it was given.  According to the flow chart, MA derived from the normal, AA Serine. Since only one base is changing, the only codon that could mutate from Serine to Tryptophan is UCG.
 For Mutant B, both the normal and Mutant A affect it's possible outcomes.  Giving us, UUG. (The C in the normal, and the G in MA mutate to U giving us Leucine.) Since the flow chart says that is what MB is, we have no other choice. 
Mutant C which is Arginine, from Mutant A, has to be CGG. 
Mutant D, which is Glycine, from Mutant C, has to be GGG.