s
a
t
i
r
josh_m josh_m
wrote...
4 years ago
I'm an amateur mushroom grower with quite a bit of experience in performing strain isolation techniques using agar in a sterile environment.

Lately, I've been thinking about the overlap in skills necessary to experiment in discovering new molecules with antibiotic properties. There are several YouTube videos with basic tutorials on how to culture a non-pathogenic microbe on agar, prepare the experimental compound and evaluate the cone of inhibition to determine its antibiotic properties.

According to the CDC Antibiotic Resistant Threats Report, 35K people die each of resistant infection and the number is only rising. I've also read that private investment from drug companies into the discovery of new antibiotics is also on the decline.

It seems to me that there is a real need for more experimentation and discovery of novel antibiotics and I'm seriously interested in dedicating a lot of my time and resources towards this goal.

Building on my mycological experience, I'd like to create a process wherein I've got an assembly line of documented and repeatable experiments running in my home lab. I figure if I can get process 2 new antibiotic experiments per week, I could do about 50 in a year and with a little luck, perhaps I could uncover something that might help save lives.

I have many questions that I'm hoping someone in academia, who is supportive of the many amateur auto didactic learners out there, can help answer for me.

Absolute answers aren't necessary - please feel free to simply point me to another resource where I can find the answer if it makes sense.

Questions:
* Firstly, I'm trying to determine what would be the most effective use of my resources that best optimizes my chances for making a valuable discovery in pursuit of discovering a novel antibiotic.

Related questions: