× Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask a question
Top Posters
Since Sunday
lgorman20101 lgorman20101
wrote...
Rep: 0 0
11 years ago
Using the forked-line approach and given the cross between two cats with the genotypes llSsdd and LlSsDd, what is the probability of a cat having the genotype llssdd? What is the probability of a cat having the short haid, white spotted, and non-diluted phenotype? [short hair is dominant to long hair, white spotted coat is dominant to not spotted, diluted color is dominant to non-diluted coloring]

what is the forked-line method and how do i use it to solve this problem?
or is there another way to solve it?
explain either please.
Read 978 times
2 Replies

Related Topics

Replies
wrote...
11 years ago
Never heard of it - too long since I studied biology maybe.

I reckon the chance is 1/16, assuming all these genes are independently assorted.

Ll x ll ?> 50% Ll 50% ll
Ss x Ss ?> 25% SS 50% Ss 25% ss
Dd x dd ?> 50% Dd 50% dd

So that's 50% x 25% x 50%, or 0.5 x 0.25 x 0.5

You can do 3 small Punnett squares to prove those if you like.

Edit: Forked line method is explained halfway down this page.
http://www.emunix.emich.edu/~rwinning/genetics/mendel4.htm
Doesn't sound a million miles from what I've done.
OakTree
wrote...
11 years ago
well i can't do the whole forked diagram on here, but it isn't necessary. basically you know that in a test cross (ex. Ll x ll will result in 1/2 Ll and 1/2 ll) and in a monohybrid cross (ex. Ss x Ss will result in 1/4 SS, 1/2 Ss, and 1/4 ss). so determining the chance of each individual gene crossing and multiplying the three together will give you the chance of all three occuring in an individual

ll x Ll . Ss x Ss . dd x Dd
1/2 ll x 1/4 ss x 1/2 dd = 1/16 llssdd