t
m
p
m
zzz1090 zzz1090
wrote...
Rep: 1 0
11 years ago
I'm currently a freshman at UMass Amherst as a chemistry major (came here as physics but just switched last week.) My intentions were to work my way into the chemical engineering curriculum, but I realized I think it may be too much for me too handle..at least at this point. So I guess you could say I 'settled' on chemistry, assuming I could still get some great jobs if I don't end up as an engineer.
The reason that I really wanted to end up in chemical engineering was so that I could ultimately end up going to Colorado School of Mines to study petroleum engineering (not offered at UMass) and get a career through my uncle, who is also a petroleum engineer. Basically, I want to make a lot of money as soon as I can..so that I can travel and perhaps even study more of what I love later on in life.
I guess I have two questions here, to get to the point. Could I still work my way into becoming a petroleum engineer after I get my chemistry degree here at UMass? And if not, are there job opportunities in the chemistry field that could also yield a great salary? Thanks in advance.
Read 488 times
2 Replies

Related Topics

Replies
wrote...
11 years ago
For what it's worth.....
I asked a chem eng. student about the chemistry he had to study
and he said he really did not need to know that much chemistry
because he could always hire a chemist when necessary.
He said, "They work cheap."
May have just been arrogance on his part
but probably worth checking out.

wrote...
11 years ago Edited: 7 years ago, bio_man
JulianDavis is generally correct. The market is smaller for Chemists and starting salaries are in the 40K range. I just graduated last year in Chemical Engineering and have to say that the program is extremely rigorous.