t
m
p
m
ashxo ashxo
wrote...
Rep: 0 0
11 years ago
I was a little naive when I earned it, thinking "I can do anything with a math degree: write computer programs, work for engineering firms, work in laboratories, etc. etc."  Now, with every year that passes and me not ever having utilized my degree in any capacity, and being forced to take menial jobs like truck driver and computer salesman, I'm beginning to think I made a major goof.  I see jobs that I'd like to do all the time, but they always want someone with a degree that's very specific to the job title, even though I know it's almost all math and I could do it with my eyes closed.  Still, my resumes go unanswered, in what is becoming a disconcertingly regular pattern.  Any input would be most appreciated.
Update:  Appreciate the math teacher input, but that's absolutely the last thing I ever wanted to be.  I don't want to throw away all of the advanced subjects I studied just to tell people how to multiply (sorry if that makes me an ass).  As for those of you that suggest going back to school, good advice, except I'm broke as a joke.  Already racked up a pile of debt getting this degree, and after several years of less than gainful employment, I can't exactly afford tuition.  But thanks for the input.
Read 534 times
5 Replies

Related Topics

Replies
wrote...
11 years ago
Math teacher.

wrote...
11 years ago
You can be a math teacher or a math professor.

Other then that: Cashier, Greeter, etc.
wrote...
11 years ago
Go back to school and get a teaching credential.
Edit:
Being a math teacher might not be your dream job, but:
a) its better than any other option that you currently have....right?
b) Its a JOB that pays money. Money that can buy you time until you DO find a job using your degree to its potential.

Beggers can't be choosers.
wrote...
11 years ago