a
t
i
r
firemonkey firemonkey
wrote...
Rep: 0 0
11 years ago
i'm an undeclared freshman in college i want to major in marine biology , but i fear it will be hard to find a job, and even harder to start a family because of the low salary.

is it even true that marine biologists do not make a lot and have a hard time getting a steady job.

what do you guys know about this field?

thanks
Read 753 times
5 Replies

Related Topics

Replies
wrote...
11 years ago
Zoo
Seaworld
wrote...
11 years ago
i sounds good
wrote...
11 years ago
If I could do school over...this would be my field of choice. I would move to the Caribbean...and work with dolphins and the tourist that pay to swim with them. I think they are fascinating, gentle creatures that I could play with them...get paid...and most of all....LIVE IN THE HEAT IN PARADISE without the expense of living in the states.  It would be worth the pay cut to me....You spend 40 hrs a week typically at a job...and if you do not enjoy what you do....you will eventually be unhappy getting up in the am. I went into the medical field since it will never go out of business...but went from hands on clinical to behind the scene as a manager of billing office...not too much interaction..but work independently which is ideal. Good Luck to you in what ever career choice you choose...CONGRATS
wrote...
11 years ago
I have a degree in Marine Biology. The first job I took related to this field started as a city job in a small zoo. Starting pay at $28,000. It was tough getting in. I applied many times before but was declined. I took many odd jobs before getting in and volunteered a lot at the zoo. It was those contacts I made as a volunteer that got me in! I now am working on a Phd. I really need this so I can gain a better salary. My next plan after I graduate is to work in research and teaching with a university or take on a lead role in a bigger zoo. Good luck!
wrote...
11 years ago
What are some of the jobs a marine biologist might aspire for?