s
s
b
c
ongiri ongiri
wrote...
Rep: 0 0
A month ago
Hi people, I am studying my way through basics of nutrition in my spare time.

NOTE

I am not a nutritionist and this is why I posted this, I am studying by myself and I want to be sure I understand the real deal, not random based stuff.

I'd like to ask more expert nutritionists what is the truth, especially because the world is divided into:

- Carbs are evil (corporations are selling sugars to you to slowly kill you etc.)
- Carbs are good if you eat them properly.

So, studying and watching also documentaries I developed this thought:

First of all carbs are a necessary part that keeps us running, their absence can also cause problems.

They have always been a big part of our diet, every culture relied on them, take for exanple rice in Asia, or bread in Europe. Back in time, poor people got fueled by carbs, because they were cheap and not everyone could afford meat etc.

You must eat carbs in a moderate way even if high GI and you MUST stay active so you burn them off.

The problem with this carbs demonization comes from ultra processed sweets and other crap, that yes, can be eaten as a 1 time during the month, but must not be a staple.

The problem to insulin resistance and correlated dieseas comes from a mix of factors such as:

- Uncontrolled crappy food consumption
- Lack of exercise
- Ignorance lead by etiquettes

Often you see (low in fat) then people thinks, oh this is healty, but then if you read the description, it has like 60g of carbs and 18 of them are sugars.

An example, random yoghurt with random flavour.

(Obviously the one above is an example to explain my thought)

All of this lead me to a question, why there are nutritionists picking a side?

Nutrition is science, and as such must be applied without picking a side or become an evangelist of (Random trend) that people believes in.