i
r
r
leminhduc93 leminhduc93
wrote...
Rep: 0 0
11 years ago Edited: 11 years ago, leminhduc93
Hello,

I mean how a gene after injected to a nucleus can detect where to insert itself.

Example : human have 23 chromosomes, i want to replace the gene ABC at the position XYZ of the 1st chromosomes with a new gene so it can production for new protein instead of old protein. After have a plasmid that included the targeting gene to transfer, how the gene to be inject can detect the position (which chromosome, which position) to injecting. Does it replace or just insert a new gene ? Or it do nothing with the original gene but just insert a gene like a new chromosome ?

I'm fairly new to this and i very stupid but i very like science, may be a stupid question but a big thank for some one can help me . Please help me.
Read 678 times
3 Replies

Related Topics

Replies
wrote...
Educator
11 years ago
Does it replace or just insert a new gene ?

I have heard of both cases. It can either replace it (mostly in bacteria) or get added randomly in the mix.

I'm fairly new to this and i very stupid but i very like science, may be a stupid question but a big thank for some one can help me . Please help me.

The gene usually gets inserted via an enzyme.
leminhduc93 Author
wrote...
11 years ago
I have heard of both cases. It can either replace it (mostly in bacteria) or get added randomly in the mix.

So which case it can replace, which case it get added randomly in the mix ?
In the experiment of PhD Yamanaka when he using retro virus to inject 4 gene (Sox2, Oct4, Klf4 and c-Myc), so it replace or added randomly in the mix ? I think it's replaced but as the first question how a gene after injected to a nucleus can detect where to insert/replace itself?

Thank you so much for your answer !
wrote...
Educator
11 years ago
Hi again,

Here's an interesting read (see the attachment).